Travel Fever

I’ve caught traveling fever. I’ve been searching the Web, trying to find alternative ways of describing it, but “travel fever” seems like the only appropriate phrase to describe how I’m feeling. I had considered calling myself a “travel junkie” or a “travel buff”, but they both couldn’t compare. Because what I have–this longing, this insane amount of wanderlust–actually feels like a fever!

I’m not one of those people that has the incredible opportunity to travel all over the world or go on cruises every summer. I’ve never left the U.S. and before last year, I could count the number of states I had visited on one hand.

It wasn’t until I moved out and went to college that I realized that I actually could travel. Something that seemed so alien to me actually seemed attainable. I could save up, plan a trip, and just go. And so I began to travel as much as I could. And with each city, I fell more and more in love with the world.

In March of 2013, I went to New York City (for free!) along with four other students from Tallahassee Community College. The following December of 2013, I went to Michigan with my boyfriend and his family. I also went to Disney World in Orlando for the first time (I live in Florida and had never been before!) a few weeks ago. Next week, I’ll be in Chicago with Florida State University’s Advertising Club. This summer, I’ll be in Philadelphia for my sister’s college graduation, and we’ll also visit NYC. I also plan to go to NYC again this fall with Ad Club for a second time! (Can you tell I’m a little obsessed with The Big Apple?)

There’s just something about a brand new city that gives me such happiness that I long for more and more. I love finding quaint coffee shops and meeting interesting people from all over the world. Whenever I’m in a new city, I make it a point to see at least one big tourist attraction, but then focus the rest of my time on finding the smaller venues, as well. I’ve come to learn that there is just so much of the world that we simply cannot see, so I try to enjoy every opportunity, big or small.

I am so excited to finally be living my dream of traveling the world. I’m starting small, but I know that I’ll travel abroad one day.

I’ve compiled a list of the top 10 places that I’d like to visit, in no particular order:

  1. Paris. Everything from the fashion to the food to hearing French accents! Plus, the Eiffel Tower is a must.
  2. Prague. I have heard that Prague is one of the most beautiful places in the world!
  3. Italy. I dream of walking the narrow streets and riding on a gondola. Ever since I saw, “Chasing Liberty”, I’ve been in love!
  4. Seattle. I have never been on the West coast of the States, and I’ve heard such fantastic things about the little shops in Seattle!
  5. Amsterdam. Tulips are my favorite flowers and it would be a dream to be able to walk through the tulip fields in the Netherlands.
  6. Ireland. Even though my grandparents, parents, and I were all born in the U.S., I know I have some Irish lineage in my history. I’ve been looking for a Claddagh ring for such a long time, and I yearn to be able to run through the Irish valleys one day.
  7. Arizona. I’m so bewildered and terrified of climbing through the Grand Canyon, but it would be so remarkable to see how vast it is.
  8. Germany. In high school, one of my best friends was a foreign exchange student from Dortmund. I would love to be able to see all of the amazing things in Germany, and say, “Ich liebe dich” to everyone!
  9. New Zealand. The lakes and hills are breathtaking. I’d love to hike through the trails and discover the nature.
  10. San Francisco. The buildings in San Francisco look so classical and romantic. This is another city I know I’m going to fall in love with!

What about you? Do you love traveling as much as I do? And if so, what cities are on your list?

One thought on “Travel Fever

Leave a Reply

