Happy Easter!

This year, Easter is a little different for me. From childhood to right before I left for college, my siblings and I would run around the yard and gather the multi-colored eggs filled with chocolate and loose change, while my parents would lovingly watch from afar. My mom would roast a ham with mashed potatoes and asparagus, and we’d each get a basket from the Easter bunny. (I truly don’t know how my parents pulled it off all those years considering there’s 10 of us.) I loved Easter because it meant family time, something that has become so rare as of late.

Marklin Family

(Marklin kiddos, circa 1997. I’m the one in the light blue dress. Photo courtesy of my momma.)

Since I moved to Tallahassee, Easter has meant studying for finals, working late, and talking on the occasional phone call. I’ve spent Easter with my boyfriend for the past three years. Being away from my family has been so hard for me these past few years, so I’m glad to be back in Wesley Chapel for the weekend. I was so fortunate to be able to celebrate with my little siblings and parents yesterday.

This morning, my mom and younger sister, Francie, flew into Boston to watch my older sister, Kirsten, run her second marathon! (Her first marathon was at the Napa Valley Marathon last year, where she got 1st place in her age district!) I am so incredibly proud of her. I’m really missing them all and am wishing I could be there to cheer her on, but I’m so happy that she has family there to support her. Plus, I’m rooting for her 1,324 miles away (Google Maps is an amazing thing).

So this year, I’m celebrating Easter with my boyfriend’s family here in Wesley Chapel. We had an Easter egg hunt this morning (which I won!), played Yahtzee (my favorite!), and ate too too much chocolate candy. Life is truly amazing and I’m so grateful to be able to celebrate this special day with my second family.

Ever since I started this blog a few weeks ago, I’ve been thinking about what truly matters to me. I already knew that I enjoy traveling and making lists and meeting new people, but I’ve also realized how important the people in my life are. I am so thankful to have such strong role models and extraordinary people that love and support me.

Life is a struggle at times, but it’s times such as these that remind me to stop and think about all of the wonderful things I have in my life: a loving family, amazing friends, good health, delicious Easter egg candy, and the memories that will live on forever. Life is truly beautiful.

Wishing you all the happiest of days,

Helena

Leave a Reply

