My First Year at Florida State

Today is the first day of my last week as a junior at Florida State University. I have experienced such a wide range of emotions today that it’s almost unbearable (excitement to fatigue to bittersweet to anxiety to productive to enthusiastic).

As the semester draws to a close, I am reminded of how lucky I am to attend such an extraordinary university. From the moment I stepped onto the campus, I knew that I was destined to bleed garnet and gold. There was something about the beautiful brick buildings, breathtaking fountains and statues, and warm smiles on students’ faces that reminded me of home. As I write this post three years later, I am confident that I am right where I need to be. The people I have met, the classes I’ve taken, and the things I’ve learned all contribute to who I am today.

As I look back on where I was last April in comparison to where I am today, I’m amazed at how far I’ve come. I have become extremely organized, productive, and diligent. In the past year…

  • I challenged myself to learn InDesign and gain a social presence. I set out to increase my following base and have since gotten more involved with Twitter and LinkedIn. I can also maneuver InDesign, and have created my resume in the fabulous application!
  • I have utilized the Reminders app and Google Drive as a means to become more organized and productive. My time management skills and productivity have increased a tenfold.
  • I dreamed of gaining real-world experience in a full-service agency or organization. Since then, I have volunteered at various organizations, began interning at The Pod Advertising, and joined the FSU Student Alumni Association leadership council.

I have grown so much in such a short period of time. And as I realize this, I am becoming so excited thinking about all of the opportunities that lie ahead of me: internships, networking opportunities, possible career paths. I am so passionate about my future and I sincerely cannot wait.

Thank you, Florida State, for this awe-inspiring first year. I’m not sure what lies ahead, but I know that it’s going to be great.

Leave a Reply

