Discovering New York

I’ve been living in New York City for three weeks now and have come to call this place my second home. Each day, I learn something new and discover a new area to explore, and I’m realizing now that this will never end. The feeling of wanderlust and the realization there is always something more will always be near. This, among many others, is one of my favorite things about New York City. ImageSome of the areas I’ve explored so far include the High Line, the Brooklyn Bridge, Williamsburg, Central Park, Bryant Park, Union Square, Times Square, Little Italy, and a few other areas. It’s so hard to compare all of these areas and grasp that they are all within the confines of this beautiful, extraordinary city. New York City truly is massive. ImageI keep hoping that my “touristy” habits will dissipate so that I can fulfill my dream of becoming a Manhattanite. But every corner I turn, I see something fascinating, something brand new, and I just have to take a picture. ImagePeople often ask me what my favorite part of this city. It’s such a loaded question and I never know how to answer it correctly. The truth is, nearly everything is my favorite part. I’m still getting acclimated to my surroundings and everything still feels so new to me. Just this morning, I was oohing and ahhing over the view from my subway ride (I’ve taken this same subway ride every morning and night for the past three weeks, mind you). The people, the buildings, the atmosphere, everything screams beauty. ImageIf anything, this city reminds me to never take things for granted. The world is such a beautiful place and too often, people don’t take the time to look up and enjoy it.

To compensate for this, I’ve started to keep my phone in my pocket when I’m walking. And it has made a world of difference. I’m beginning to see things I would have never noticed if I were looking at my phone. Like the intricate detailing of architecture at the top of a building, the people that stand so close to me on the subway, or the smiles on people’s faces as they greet each other on the street. ImageI’m falling hard for this city, guys.

2 thoughts on “Discovering New York

    • Helena Marklin says:

      I haven’t gotten that vibe at all! I’m actually worried about seeing everything in the short period of time I’m here. I’ve been here five weeks and still feel that I haven’t scratched the surface! Are there are must-sees you can recommend?

      Like

Leave a Reply

