#GIRLBOSS

I have always loved reading. When I was young, I loved going to the library and renting books upon books. My library card got so much use. I remember a specific day where I asked the librarian what the limit of the amount of books I could take out was. She responded with some crazy amount (I think it was like 50?), so I came back to her a little while later with 13 books. She was so surprised and told me she couldn’t believe I could read all of those books in one month. I remember walking out with a huge pile of books and only thinking of how excited I was to get started. (For the record, I totally did read all of those books in less than a month.) 

Over the years, my library trips became less frequent and my time spent reading went from hours to minutes. But my love for reading was always there in the back of my mind. I prioritized many trivial things over reading, like watching Netflix or skimming the Internet for endless hours. As an English major, this is a pretty bad thing to admit.

However, moving to the city and riding the subway everyday has given me a lot of free time to do things I normally wouldn’t be able to do. Like reading! 

After finishing Nicholas Sparks’ latest books, The Best of Me (very good but almost too similar to The Notebook) and The Longest Ride (also very good, but the beginning was very slow and almost boring. The middle to end of the book was best.) I was looking for a good book to get into. As I’ve mentioned before, one of my favorite bloggers is Carly Heitlinger of The College Prepster. She recently did a book review of the books she’s been reading, and I’m so glad that she blogged about #GIRLBOSS.

Girl Boss
(Photo from refinery29.com)

#GIRLBOSS (yes, the title of the book has a hashtag in it–more reason for you to read it!) is written by Sophia Amoruso, the founder and CEO of Nasty Gal, an online clothing store that was originally created on eBay. #GIRLBOSS is about Amoruso’s life and how she got to where she is today: a millionaire who runs one of the fasting-growing clothing companies in the world. She’s also quite possibly the coolest person in the world.

Without giving too much of the story away, #GIRLBOSS details Amoruso’s views on life through her teenage years to her late twenties. She went from being a dumpster-diving shoplifter to a New York Times bestseller and CEO. So basically, she’s my new role model.

I would encourage everyone to read #GIRLBOSS. It’s a fairly easy read and it’s easy to follow along because Amoruso writes as if she’s talking to you (which I love).

Are there any books that you recommend? I love finding out about great books! 

Leave a Reply

