Myers Briggs: I’m an ENFP!

myers briggsFor close to 10 years, my mom has been obsessed with this thing called Myers Briggs. It’s essentially a personality test that helps you understand the way you think, where you gain your energy, and how you interact with others.

Growing up, my siblings and I would get so annoyed that she brought it up to every person she met. It was one of her favorite conversation starters, and we never understood the meaning behind it. To us, it was just another one of her “mom things”.

But over time, I grew to learn that it’s a great resource to understanding how people think.

When I took my first psychology class in high school, my teacher asked if any of us had heard of the Myers Briggs test. Sheepishly, I raised my hand. To my surprise, my teacher was fascinated that I knew of it and pecked me with questions about it. I quickly learned that Myers Briggs often leads to deep and intense conversations, and that it’s actually a pretty popular topic in the workforce.

When I was 17, I decided to take the test online. And then I continued to retake it multiple times because I was horrified to discover that my result was the exact same of my mother: ENFP. I guess the old saying, “Like mother, like daughter” rings true for my mom and I.

I went on to learn that there are 16 possible personality types in four different categories. Each person is assigned a specific letter to represent their type for each category.

The first category is either introverted or extraverted. (If you are introverted, you receive an I and if you are extraverted, you receive an E.) People often think that being extraverted means that you are a people person and being introverted means that you like being alone. While this may be true in some cases, the real meaning behind the two depends on where you get your energy from. For example, you may love being in social interactions and meeting new people, but need to be alone for a few hours afterward to recharge your batteries. In this instance, you might be considered introverted.

The second category is intuitive or sensing. (N stands for intuitive and S is for sensing.) In order to understand the difference between the two, you need to understand the definition of intuition, which is “the ability to understand something immediately, without the need for conscious reasoning.” When someone is intuitive, they can sense things in their gut. On the other hand, people who are sensing rely on their five senses of sight, sound, touch, taste, and smell. They also generally love nature.

The third category is feeling or thinking. This category is generally hard to explain, and I myself don’t understand it to its full complexity. The most basic way that I see it is if you are feeling, you value mercy over judgment, and thinking is vice versa. People who are thinking value statistics and principles, while people who are feeling focus on personal feelings and the people involved. A common misconception is that feeling is correlated to emotions and thinking is correlated to intelligence; this is not true. The Myers Briggs website clearly states, “Everyone has emotions about the decisions they make.

The final category is perceiving or judging. This is another difficult category to understand. To me, this category should not be seen as black and white since people often display both traits or can be a mixture. Essentially, what it boils down to is how you prefer your work environment or how organizational you are. People who are perceiving often live in the here and now, and they can live in a controlled chaos setting, while people who are judging prefer a structured environment. They are the planners and like things to be organized.

Over time, I grew to enjoy learning about the different personality types and how each person functions. As an ENFP, I am a social person who loves meeting people, but also likes some time to myself. I am intuitive, as well as in touch with my feelings. While I am perceiving, I still love my desk to be organized, and find happiness in planning my future. So while it may seem as though each category is either this or that, it’s common to blur the lines a little. 

If you are interested in finding out your personality type, you can take the free test online here. I love talking to people about their results and the way they see the world.

What do you think your personality type is? After taking the test, were you shocked at your results? Feel free to comment below or shoot me an email!

3 thoughts on “Myers Briggs: I’m an ENFP!

  1. justjuliette says:

    Love your blog!! I’m an ENFJ! You said overtime this has become a resource for you to understand how people think– short of forcing them to sit down and take the test, how do you apply it?

    Like

    • Helena Marklin says:

      Thanks so much! I love discussing Myers Briggs, and I’m constantly trying to learn more about it! When I first meet someone, I pick up on social cues and see how they interact with other people. If someone approached me, that sends a signal that they might be extraverted, whereas if someone is standing on the outer part of the room, it generally gives off an introverted cue.

      One of biggest moments I can remember where Myers Briggs affected my personal interactions was in my freshman year in college. My math professor seemed very distant and preferred emailing me as opposed to meeting face to face. I initially didn’t understand why he didn’t want to sit down with me–I had thought that he didn’t like me or just didn’t care about my success–but I eventually realized that his personality type was different than mine. While I was extraverted and learned through social interactions, he was more comfortable interacting with me through the Internet. This really helped me to understand him better, and gave me an insight into how other people prefer to work.

      Like

      • justjuliette says:

        Great example! Lately I’ve really been trying to step into other’s shoes to understand why they act the way they do. It’s especially helpful in scenarios where I’ve been feeling hurt by someone I cared about. It makes it easier to deal with their actions. Reading up on these different personality types will definitely add to that. Thanks!

        Like

Leave a Reply

