Light the Night Walk

I mentioned briefly yesterday that I have been helping to fundraise for a charity through my new position at Brandt. This fall, Brandt will be participating in the Light the Night Walk, which is The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society‘s campaign to honor blood cancer survivors and those lost the disease.

Light the Night Walk

Since joining this campaign last week, I have done some research on Leukemia and Lymphoma and the effects they have on the world. Leukemia is cancer of the bone marrow or blood, and Lymphoma is a cancer that normally attacks the immune system. Approximately every 3 minutes, one person in the United States is diagnosed with a blood cancer. In 2014, 52,380 people are expected to be diagnosed with leukemia, and 24,090 people are expected to die from leukemia. These numbers are staggering. I don’t personally know anyone who is suffering from these diseases, but through this cause, I have met so many extraordinary people who have been affected by them. My friends’ family members, my family’s friends, friends of friends. So many people are affected in some way.

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society works to find treatments for blood-related cancers and is dependent upon the support of people like us.

Light the Night Walks are happening all over the country–just yesterday, I saw a friend share a LTN walk in Texas. It brings me so much joy to know that people all across America are uniting over a common battle.

If you are in the Tallahassee area, I would love it if you could join me on FSU-Langford Green on November 13th. The event starts at 5:30 p.m., but the one-mile walk will begin at 7 p.m.

If you would like to help me reach my goal of raising $500, you can donate here.  I would greatly appreciate any donations in support of this worthy cause. 

Let’s put an end to these life-threatening diseases.

Photo source

2 thoughts on “Light the Night Walk

Leave a Reply

