December Changes

Today marks the end of my fall semester at Florida State, which means I have one more semester before I graduate! This has been the best semester so far and I am so excited to finish up my senior year.

FSU campus

I took five classes this past semester and can honestly say this was my best semester both mentally and academically. This was the first semester where I worked mornings and took classes at night, and it has been such a good change. When I was registering for classes, I was a little nervous flipping my schedule my last year of college, but it has been so worth it. The early mornings have given me a lot of energy and I’ve been more productive these past few weeks. I’ve also had more time in the mornings to prepare for my later classes.

As December winds down, (and I really think it’s flown by!) I’m just now starting to prepare for the holidays. Since I live in Florida, it hasn’t really hit me that Christmas is in less than two weeks. The weather has been really sunny and cool and there’s absolutely zero chance of it snowing in Tallahassee. I was in New York the week before Thanksgiving and in St. Louis the week of Thanksgiving so my boyfriend and I decided not to get a Christmas tree this year. Because of all the traveling and homework, the past few weeks have flown by and I can’t believe 2014 is almost over! The good news is that even though there’s no snow and I don’t have a tree at my apartment, the company I work for got a 12-foot tree last week and it’s made my whole week. I love walking into work every morning to the smell of an evergreen tree.

Christmas Tree 2014Next week, my family and I will be in Massanutten, Virginia, for a week over Christmas! If it snows on Christmas morning (and I truly hope that it does) it would be my first white Christmas in seven years! That was my favorite part about Christmas in St. Louis, and it would be amazing to be able to see that again.

I’m one of 10 kids so our Christmases are a lot of fun. We’re only able to get the whole family together once a year so when we do, there’s always funny stories and lots of baking. This will be our first year spending Christmas away from home and I’m so looking forward to seeing everyone again.

December always brings so many changes; not just in the weather and school, but also in my attitude. This season, I’ve felt motivated to try new things and be open to change. I’ve accomplished a few small goals and began focusing on my post-grad life. In January, I’ll start my last semester at Florida State, but right now, I’m happy with where I am. Changes are good and December is great. 

Leave a Reply

