three little goals.

January is one of my favorite months because it feels like a fresh start. Like most people, I love endings. I love closing the book and putting a pretty ribbon on it; but while endings give you traditions and memories to hold onto, beginnings give you the freedom to start over. I love a good beginning.

As you’ve probably noticed, I’m motivated by goals. I like crafting to-do lists and striking through tasks as I finish them. This year, I’m setting three little goals to hopefully help me grow mentally, professionally, and creatively. My three goals are to…

  • run every day for a year
  • craft something new once a month
  • read one book a month

I’m entering this year with the mindset to shoot for progress, not perfection. This is something that another blogger, Elise of ENJOY IT blog, mentions often. running

I know that it’s not likely that I’ll run every day of this year, but I’m going to make it a daily thought. “Do I have time to go running today?” or “It’s a little sunny out… a great day for a run.” I’m also aware that one book per month might seem like a small amount, but it’s a jumping off point. If I commit to one book per month, I have something to hold myself to. With classes starting this week, I’ll be reading a lot of material in class, but I’m going to set aside time for personal reading. amypoehleryesplease

So far, I’ve thought a lot about my three little goals and I’ve made a pretty great start. Right now, I’m reading Amy Poehler’s Yes Please (and loving every single page). I just learned how to knit last month and I’ve been working on knitting my first scarf. I’ve gotten the hang of it and it’s nearly finished. My friend, Allison, is teaching me the English knot and I’ve only learned how to knit using one color yarn; I’m hoping to make a scarf with two different colors soon. I’m currently struggling with tying the knots too loosely or too tightly; I’ve also dropped a stitch. This is a perfect example of how I’m going to shoot for progress, not perfection.

knitting1As for running, today is day 5 of January and I’ve gone running twice. While I’m starting off a little slow (metaphorically and literally), I’m hoping that it’ll motivate me to run more frequently these next couple of months.

2015, let’s do this.

4 thoughts on “three little goals.

Leave a Reply

