12 Months of Crafting

As I mentioned yesterday, one of my three little goals is to craft something new once a month. At the end of the year, I’m hoping to have learned new techniques, create beautiful handmade things, and push myself creatively.

12monthsofcraftingJanuary is for knitting. I’m working on a yellow scarf and am allowing myself to make mistakes–knit loosely, knit tightly, drop stitches, anything I can to learn from my mistakes. I was walking through Michael’s a few days ago and got so excited walking through the yarn isle and looking at patterns. This will be a great month for sure. knitting b & w

Before this past December, I had never touched a pair of knitting needles, but always wanted to. My good friend, Allison, gave me my first pair along with this gorgeous yellow yarn for Christmas! She’s also the one teaching me and I’m so grateful to have such good friends (hands-on learner over here!). This is my progress as of yesterday. scarfcurrently

I have a bit of background in a few of these crafts, but for the most part, this will be a brand new venture. I took a brief painting class outside of school when I was 14 and then painted a picture frame last year at FSU.mewithpaintedpictureframe

I’ve played around with InDesign the past year or so, but haven’t had any formal training. I used to scrapbook with my sisters when I was about 10. I learned how to sew on a sewing machine in a Home Ec class in middle school, but haven’t touched a machine since. My boyfriend’s mom taught me how to cross stitch two Christmases ago, but I never finished my first one. cross stitch

Basically, I’m still learning. I am no expert, but I love learning and exploring and getting better with practice.

It’s important to me that I don’t limit myself to these 12 crafts. This also isn’t a concrete schedule of crafts month to month. This is merely a jumping off point, a list of techniques I’m interested in trying. If an opportunity to learn how to crochet comes up in March, I will gladly reach for it, just like any other.

You can follow along my 12 months of crafting on Instagram with #helenagetscrafty.

If you have experience with any of these kinds of crafting, I’d love to hear about it! Which do you thing is the easiest to pick up? Which is your favorite?

3 thoughts on “12 Months of Crafting

Leave a Reply

