Campus Activities

Happy Valentine’s Day! This has been the best Valentine’s Day in a long time and I know I won’t forget it. Since my boyfriend, Spencer, and I are both graduating in three months, we’ve been trying to take advantage of the many opportunities FSU provides. I’ve noticed that a lot of students are unaware that FSU has so many great activities so I thought I’d share a few.

ragtime live play

On Wednesday, Spencer surprised me by taking me to see Rag Time, FSU’s live play. We saw Monty Python’s Spamalot last year so we had high expectations–and we weren’t disappointed! It was so incredible.

ragtime live playWe managed to get really close to the front since it was the dress rehearsal, and the cast performed beautifully. And the tickets were only $5! When I was in New York last summer, I saw two Broadway shows and fell in love with plays. If you are in the Tallahassee area or are FSU students, I would definitely recommend you go see it!

couch to 5k

A few weeks ago, we came across the FSU Fitness & Wellness page and found tons of fun things that were mostly free! Of the many things available were running programs, cooking classes, grocery tours, and wellness talks. Did I mention they were practically free? One of the running programs is called Couch to 5K, which places runners with physical trainers to run together for 10 weeks. It costs $25 and at the end of the program, everyone runs a 5k together and gets a t-shirt. There are four different running times to choose from, but they also offer makeup sessions to accommodate class and work schedules. Since one of my goals this year is to get back into running, I jumped at the opportunity. I signed up late, but started this past Thursday and it was so awesome! I couldn’t speak more highly of this opportunity. 

spence cooking

Another small goal of mine is to eat healthier and cook more food at home. The Fitness & Wellness center offers so many awesome courses and Spence and I attended our first one this past Thursday. It was “Making Your Relationships Sweeter: Desserts and Discussion on Love.” Spencer loves cooking and I desperately want to get better so it was perfect for us. Also it was completely free! 🙂

dark chocolate covered oranges dark chocolate covered oranges

We made dark chocolate covered oranges, banana’s foster, and peanut butter cups. I’ve never made any of these before so it was really exciting! The chocolate covered oranges were just that–peeled oranges dipped in dark chocolate and topped with orange zest. They were soo good. 

peanut butter cup mess up

Of course, not everything went as planned. I was trying to do something nice for Spencer by washing the dishes as he prepared the next dessert and accidentally washed the peanut butter and coconut oil down the drain, so we were short a bit. We laughed it over with some chocolate covered oranges. So us. 🙂

Bananas Foster

The final dish we made was bananas foster! We made it with butter, walnuts, and a little bit of honey. Topped it with some vanilla ice cream and it was do die for! We’ll definitely be keeping this recipe for the future.

hele and spe cookingWe really had so much fun these past few days! I am so excited to continue with the Couch to 5k program and go to more cooking classes! We’ve also gone to a ton of free basketball games and went bowling for free. Now that football season is over, maybe we’ll go to some baseball games soon, too! Thanks for reading about the fun things I’ve been up to. I encourage you to check out what programs and activities your campus may offer!

Leave a Reply

