Painting With a Twist

painting 1

One of my goals this year is to craft and create more. I’ve always loved painting, but haven’t touched a brush in years. I love the newness and uncertainty of a blank canvas. I love filling it up with colors and making it brand new. I love creating something that I can put in my home and cherish every time I look at it. 

spence painting

But I don’t own an easel or paints or paint brushes and it all seemed like a huge debacle so I put it off. My coworker told me about Painting With a Twist and I checked out their website. It’s essentially a painting class where everyone paints the same thing and gets to eat and drink while painting. Pretty cool, right? I browsed their collection of over 4,000 pieces and found one for “date night.” Instead of two people painting the same painting, they each painted a canvas that when put together, would make a bigger piece of art. I loved the idea.

I really want to give credit to every painter out there. (Here’s to you, Elise!) Painting is so much harder than I had thought. I am a very detailed-oriented person and I had so much trouble painting the background of the canvas. I kept mixing colors and painting over parts that I loved. Spencer really helped me to add “imperfections” to the background, and I’m so happy with the result.

background abstract

You’ll notice that in the pictures above and below, the whiter canvas is on opposite sides. Spence painted the whiter background canvas and we switched them before we painted the trees. I love the versatility of painting. I love that we can be unique and crazy and make it our own. 

painting 2

My tree is on the left and his is on the right. I connected the branches to form a heart in the middle and Spence painted the moon. We added some white to the trees to brighten it up and add some texture.

painting 3

Next was my absolute favorite part: adding the flowers! While I really struggled with the background of the painting, I was pretty good at drawing the flowers. The details, man. For the most part, Spence painted the yellow flowers and I painted the pink ones, but we both took turns adding little bits of color to each canvas.

One special thing that I took away from this experience was that even though Spencer and I have been together for close to five years, we’re still learning new things about each other. I had no idea Spencer was so creative and abstract; we really complement each other’s talents and I love having a simple reminder of this realization. 

painting 4

I am so so incredibly happy with how these turned out! They are currently hanging in my bedroom and I’m so looking forward to waking up with the sun shining on them!

helena and spencer painting

If you’re looking for a great date idea, or even something fun to do with friends, definitely check out Painting With a Twist! They have studios all over the country! If you’ve painted with them before, I’d love to see your art!

Leave a Reply

