I Want to Remember (College)

2015 is going to be my biggest year yet. It’s the year I graduate college and start my first real job. It’s the year I move to a new city and move in with my boyfriend. It’s the year that I completely let everything go and just go.

fsu westcott

It’s February 26th and 2015 is moving fast. I blinked and we’re already 2 months in. The thing is, I really want to remember these days.

late night hangouts

I want to remember all of the late-night activities and peaceful moments. I want to remember what it feels like to come home, watch TV, knit, make dinner, and do homework with Spence. I want to remember all of the great TV shows we watched together: Parks & Rec, How I Met Your Mother, Breaking Bad, Weeds, Parenthood, 30 Rock, Community. I want to remember sleeping in, lazy Saturdays, and late breakfasts. I want to remember the weekly trivia, the late night board games, the barbecues, the late-night pool.

zelda

I want to remember the day Spencer and I finally got our first cat, Zelda. I want to remember all of the days and nights we would stay up for hours playing with her and watching her do the funniest things. I want to remember the day she got outside and the next day when she came back. I want to remember the anguish I felt when she got sick, and we had to put her down. 

gould fam

disney world with minnie

marklin girls

I want to remember all of the weekend trips. I want to remember going to Disney World for the first time and being a little kid for a few days. I want to remember the spontaneous trip to Atlanta and the annual trips to Daytona for the 24-Hour Rolex Race. I want to remember all of the trips back home to Tampa where we spent time with family. I want to remember all of the long car rides filled with loud music, meaningful conversations, and endless hand holding.

tcc flowers

I want to remember my time at Tallahassee Community College. I want to remember where I started and the people that helped me get to where I am today. I want to remember the newspaper class, where I learned what true hard work really felt like. I want to remember the moment I got accepted into Florida State University

spe and he football

football games

I want to remember all of the football games at FSU. I want to remember waking up to the FSU war chant outside my window. I want to remember the 80,000 people in the sold out stands, all cheering for the same team. I want to remember the moment of sheer joy when I realized we were going to the National Championship. I want to remember being winners, and accepting defeat when it was time.

welcome to new york

I want to remember the distress I felt when I didn’t get accepted into the advertising program. I want to remember the moment I realized things happen for a reason and I accepted who I was. I want to remember the day I got the call telling me I was accepted into JWT’s summer internship program. I want to remember the elation I felt when I realized I would be moving to New York for the 2014 summer.

empire state building

willis tower view

helena chicago

I want to remember all of the traveling. I want to remember the trips to Chicago, St. Louis, New York, Philadelphia, and Atlanta. I want to remember all of the subway rides, the skyscrapers, the delicious food, and the incredible people. I want to remember the day I realized how incredibly massive the world is and the moment I decided I want to see it all.

pumpkin love

I want to remember all the times Spence and I talked about life after college, if only we could just get there. I want to remember all of the joyful memories along with the sad moments. I want to remember the great accomplishments, but also the biggest failures. I want to remember. 

And so I’ve done more, I’ve written more, and hopefully, I will remember more.

2015 will be my biggest year yet. And I can’t wait to remember it all. 

One thought on “I Want to Remember (College)

Leave a Reply

