one little word: improve

2015 has been the year of improvements. I’ve mentioned a few times that 2015 will be one of my biggest years. We’re halfway through March and it’s shaping up to be my best year yet.

In January, I set three little goals: to read one book a month, to craft something new once a month, and to run every day for a year. While I have been adept at sticking to my crafting goal, I have neglected my running goal. I threw myself into my last semester of college and work, and in turn, put running on the back burner.

running shoes

But to be honest, this is probably my most important goal. I want to get back into running, I want to improve my health, I want to change my lifestyle. And it took me two and a half months, but I have finally understood. I had my light bulb moment, my epiphany, my realization. This year, I have been improving myself in nearly every area of my life. I stopped biting my nails, I learned how to knit, and in that moment, I realized I was going to get back into shape.

getintoshape

This is the very reason I have made my one little word for 2015 improve. (If you’re unfamiliar with the one little word concept, you can read more about it on Ali Edwards’ blog.) I want to improve myself physically, mentally, emotionally, and intellectually. I want to become a better version of myself every single day.

To help with my little goal of running, I downloaded the MapMyRun app. If you’re also using it, I’d love to follow along with your progress. I also start listening to music when I run–Spotify’s “Cardio” playlist has been on repeat for days. And recently, I made the decision to cut out sweets, fast food, and soda for the month of March. I’m hoping to make this a year-long improvement, but I’m taking it one step at a time.

I am a big believer in the saying, “it’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey.” I am always focusing on the details and what it takes to get to where I’m going. For personal projects, I am not worrying about the time it takes to complete or the results–what matters to me is that I get there. I think Elise puts it perfectly in her quote on her her daily calendar, “Shoot for progress–not perfection.” This could be my motto of the year. 

2015 is looking pretty great, and I’m looking forward to improving one day at a time. 

One thought on “one little word: improve

Leave a Reply

