Donate Blood!

DonateBlood

Photo from OneBlood

I have one of the best jobs–I have the opportunity to plan all of the events for our company, including all of the holiday parties, birthday parties, corporate events, cookouts, and I’ve recently been planning our company’s 30th anniversary party! You might recall last November when I helped to plan Tallahassee’s Light the Night Walk. Throughout the roughly 10 weeks of fundraising, I planned corporate lunches and meetings to keep employees updated on our progress. It’s by far my favorite thing to do at my job.

Every two months or so, Brandt holds a blood drive through OneBlood. As the events coordinator, I plan all of the drives, promote the drives, sign up employees, and ensure the drive runs smoothly. I’m also a donor. 🙂 (O+ for the win!) 

I’ve been donating blood ever since I was 16 and am very passionate about it. I try to donate whenever I am able and have donated at my church back home, Tallahassee Community College, Florida State University, movie theaters, and now at my office.

The last time I donated back in January was my eighth time! Which means, I have donated a whole gallon of blood. It was definitely a milestone for me and I look forward to donating more frequently in the future.

donate blood

Photo from Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.

If you have never donated blood before, I would like to clear up a few thoughts you might have.

I wouldn’t say that donating blood is 100% painless, but it is definitely manageable. For me, the worst part is my anxiety leading up to the donation. When you go in, you read all of the information about the procedure, what they do with your blood, side effects, etc. You sign some paperwork and they prick your finger to test your iron. If your iron level is above a 12.5, then you’re able to donate. I’ve had problems with my iron so I have only been able to donate about 50% of the time. (I’ve learned that eating spinach or red meat a few days before along with breakfast the morning of resolves this issue.)

The entire donation process takes less than an hour on average. They give you lots of snacks and drinks along with kind conversation. You can read all kinds of facts and FAQs on various blood donation websites like American Red Cross or OneBlood.

The main reason I wanted to blog about this topic today is because I want to bring it into the conversation. There are so many people who are unfortunately unable to donate either due to travel or recent tattoos or pregnancy or personal reasons; because of all of these factors, it diminishes the amount of possible donations.

Donated blood is used for so many treatments. It can be used for cancer patients, infants, surgical patients, pregnant women, trauma patients, and so much more. You can donate once every 56 days and each donation can help up to three people. And recently, I noticed that there is a critical need for blood in Orlando, Florida (about 4 hours from where I live).

“Every two seconds someone in the U.S. needs blood.” 

If you are the slightest bit interested, I encourage you to do your research about it and consider donating. It could save someone’s life. 

Have you donated blood before? Have you considered it?

Leave a Reply

